Setting Goals

I have been told that writing about your goals helps you to have clarity, which helps you to achieve your goals.  So, here I go for clarity!

All of my adult life my dream has been to live a something other than an ordinary life.  I have always had an affinity for Nature and living a sustainable live.  Of course, back then we didn’t even have sustainable in our vocabulary.  Ecological was fairly new in the lexicon.  Organic was the word of the day.  I had two false starts towards living in a sustainable way.

I once purchased five acres near Mora, Minnesota, which I never did anything with because on my first weekend visit I was attacked by Dear Flies and Mosquitos.  I also learned that the water table was barely below the surface–about two feet–which made building a good foundation for a cabin almost impossible, at least financially.  I thought I would come up with some ideas on making it possible but never came up with anything financially reasonable.  As life sometimes goes, I wound up moving to Iowa, Kansas and, then, Arizona.  My parents oversaw the sale of the land in Mora.  I didn’t make any money in the sale, to put it mildly.  It took several years for my folks to get the deed done.  Evidently there aren’t many folks, like me, that want to live in a swamp in Northern Minnesota!  Who knew?

After a few years in Arizona I decided to look for a parcel in the North-Central part of the State and to the West of Flagstaff.  I found a beautiful parcel for a very reasonable price and purchased it.  I had almost five acres of mostly forested land in a hilly area.  The last half-mile of road was really something!  I’m glad I had 4-wheel drive or I would never have made it.  I loved it there!  There was only one problem–it was 1500 feet, minimum, to water and that was under a layer of granite that I’m not sure how many feet thick it was.  There was a community water tower in a small town and that wasn’t very far.  So, I considered having water hauled to the land. Again, that was a very expensive idea.  So, I thought I would haul the water myself in a water tank on a trailer.

In the meantime, I purchased a pop-up tent trailer and set it up.  I purchased a 200 watt solar panel and two deep cell batteries.  I visited a few times and really enjoyed being in the fresh air.  I also found a small area that, when I stood on it, I felt a very low electrical charge that went all of the way to the top of my head.  I had always heard of vortexes  but had never put much truck in them.  Now, I had to rethink that idea.

I became quite ill in about the second year after I purchased the land and wasn’t able to get up there.  After being absent for over a year went up only to find the tires, solar panel and batteries stolen.  The brakes had been set on the trailer in such a way that the thieves must had decided not to haul the trailer out.  Because I was so ill, I didn’t return except for one time with a group of friends.  I put it up for sale and have done nothing about land since.

I wanted to live a sustainable lifestyle.  I didn’t have grand plans plans for either parcel of land that I had purchased.  I wanted a simple one-room cabin, a small barn for goats and chickens, solar and wind-power and a WELL.  I laugh now because one parcel had water right under my feet and was basically swamp land and the other had water down about $25,000.00 worth.  I had to rethink my plans completely because there were so many obstacles with each attempt.  Obstacles are for a reason.   I now feel that my motivations were totally out of kilter and I was very immature in the decision process.  Plus, it simply was not the right thing for me to do this.  I didn’t have the energy or the means.

How have things changed over the years?  Check  the next post.

 

About Brocurt

I'm an independent Franciscan and was ordained a priest in Uraguay July 4, 2008. After several years of active service I became ill and became unable to fulfill my obligations as a priest. I have been retired since but due to better health am looking into the possibility of doing spiritual work and being an instrument of the Divine to bring love and compassion where ever I go. I DO have a lot of spiritual work I need to do on myself. I am not perfect and will never claim to be anything near perfection. I am al child of the Divine, as are all of us. My path is primarily liberal in nature, though I have conservative aspects as well. I feel that it is important to listen to what the Earth is telling us and we must start reevaluating our ideas of what constitutes a fulfilling life. We are vastly over-consuming the resources of our planet and we are despoiling it with pollutants in the air and chemicals in our soil that it is not able to repair by itself. The Climate is more bizarre than any time in recorded history and our oceans have become less able to sustain aquatic life which we need to feed us. Well, the problems are too vast to talk about here. Some of my blogs will show my point-of-view on many matters. Not that I am a vast warehouse of knowledge but I put information together with a hope that at least some of it is beneficial to others. I have decided to write about my upcoming journey to living a nomadic life. I hope to purchase a smallish travel trailer and a pickup truck capable of towing said trailer. I hope to encourage conversation with others and may find guidance from you and that my guidance may be helpful for you, as well. I am really looking forward to this process because I believe it will help to so make better decisions after more complete consideration of factors in to find a successful and fulfilling life. I hope everyone can find a way to live well on less. Our possessions hold us back and swallow up our resources, financial and psychological, so we would do well to change our ways. The adventure begins!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

